Ever since I was 11 and living in Namibia, I loved staying up late at night and looking at the stars, wondering what’s behind there. What’s behind what we can see. Unlike my dad, I wasn’t thinking of God and spiritual things, but stars, galaxies, black holes, dark matter and the powers that made the world turn. Still not God, but gravity, electro magnetism and weak and strong nuclear forces. The world is ruled by them, and at age 11 I was gifted a book called A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking.

Now, almost 7 years later, I love staying up late at night and look at stars, and wonder… Will I be the one to come up with the unified theory that can really unite physics? Will I be  the Sheldon Cooper or will I end up as the Wolowitz of my world, a Jewish aero-space engineer who is forever being treated as second class by his genius friends with PhD’s?

 

Leave a Reply

